The LEGO Group welcomes two new members to its Board of Directors

This post may contains affiliate links. If you use these links to buy something we may earn a commission. Thanks.

Ebi Atawodi, Director of Product, YouTube Studio, Google and Ilkka Paananen, CEO and co-founder of Finnish games company Supercell, join the LEGO A/S Board.

BILLUND, April 26, 2024: The LEGO Group today announced the appointment of two new members to its LEGO A/S Board of Directors, effective April 26, 2024.

Ebi Atawodi, Director of Product, YouTube Studio, Google and Ilkka Paananen, CEO and co-founder of Finnish gaming company Supercell, will bring their experience in start-ups, gaming, digital technology, and social impact to the Board.

Prior to her current role, Ebi Atawodi was previously Director of Product, Payments EMEA at Netflix, and before that Head of Product at Uber leading the global payments experiences across all Uber apps. Ebi brings together her experience as an engineer, designer, communicator and general manager to create impactful, sustainable products that harness the power of storytelling and positively impact people’s lives.

Under Ilkka Paananen’s leadership, Supercell which created titles such as Clash of Clans, Clash Royale, and Brawl Stars was the first European tech startup to reach a valuation of $10 billion. In addition to his role at Supercell, Ilkka helps other entrepreneurs as both an investor and as a mentor through his founder office called Illusian.

He has also co-founded We Foundation, which builds social impact measurement platform and tools for organizations working with children and families; and Wondershop, a new kind of game studio that develops games that teach kids valuable skills they need in life.

Thomas Kirk Kristiansen, Chair of the LEGO A/S Board of Directors said: “We are very happy to welcome Ebi and Ilkka to the Board of Directors. They bring a wealth of relevant experience, which complements and adds value to the board, as we work to reach more children, continue to build the brand, and navigate an evolving digital landscape. With our shared passion for innovation, creativity and learning, and joint commitment to building a more sustainable future for children, we look very much forward to the collaboration.”

He also thanked Eva Berneke, who will step down from the Board after 13 years of service: “Eva has been a valuable member of our Board during a period of tremendous development for the company. We thank Eva for the positive impact, she has had on the company for more than a decade and for her dedication and support. We wish her all the best.”

The LEGO Group Board of Directors, LEGO A/S, consists of eight members, including five independent, non-executive directors.

Consider supporting Brick Brains by purchasing your LEGO from using our affiliate links.
We get a small percentage of the purchase total and it doesn’t change the price you pay.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.